We included providers that replace consumer units in Greater London homes and compared them on pricing basis, what is included, extras charged separately, guarantees and coverage. Research was desk-based on 27 October 2026, using company pages, Checkatrade, Companies House and published cost guides. We did not request quotes, so no firm’s actual price is claimed here.
Capital Electrician is placed first as a publisher-selected featured pick. The other four are unranked. Price guides differ: Fantastic Services gives £700 to £1,200 for London, HaMuch gives £650 to £1,500, and Housekeep quotes a wider £300 to £850.
Pricing models compared
| # | Company | Strongest fit | Main differentiator | Pricing basis | Consider |
| 1 | Capital Electrician | Buyers wanting one all-in quote | Testing, EIC and notification listed as included | Survey, then written quote; not publicly listed | No guarantee period stated |
| 2 | Fantastic Services | Buyers who want published rates | Public weekday, evening and weekend rates | £61 first half hour, £49 per half hour, £569 day | Materials and shopping time extra |
| 3 | Housekeep | Small jobs booked online | First hour paid at booking | Hourly; not publicly listed | Board cost added later |
| 4 | Pimlico Plumbers | Buyers wanting an itemised estimate | Breakdown and schedule within 48 hours | Estimate valid 30 days | Price not listed |
| 5 | Sky Electrical | South-west London homes | Six-year workmanship warranty | Free estimate; not publicly listed | Twickenham-centred |
1. Capital Electrician | Our pick for a single, all-inclusive quote
Capital Electrician, trading name of CAPELEC GROUP LTD (company number 17180050), provides consumer unit replacement across Greater London. It visits to assess the installation, then issues a quote it describes as clear with no hidden costs.
That approach suits buyers who want one figure covering board, labour, testing and certification rather than an hourly running total.
Key details
- Core offering: old board removed, metal-clad RCD or RCBO unit fitted
- Coverage: all Greater London boroughs
- Customer fit: homeowners, landlords, small businesses
- Pricing and terms: written quote after survey; price not publicly listed
Where Capital Electrician stands out
The inclusions are published. Removal, the new unit, full testing and labelling, an Electrical Installation Certificate and Building Control notification are all listed, so you can check rival quotes line by line.
What to consider
Without a published price you cannot benchmark before the survey. The site shows 18 Google reviews at 5.0 (checked 27 October 2026), and the reviewed page states no guarantee period.
Best fit
Buyers who prefer a fixed written quote to hourly billing.
Website: capitalelectrician.co.uk
2. Fantastic Services | Best for transparent hourly rates
Overview
Fantastic Services books trades within the M25 and publishes its fuse box replacement rates. An inspection with an earth and bonding check comes first, followed by a written quote.
It is the only provider here whose labour rates are public.
Key details
- Core offering: inspection, replacement, certification
- Coverage: within the M25
- Customer fit: households wanting online booking
- Pricing and terms: weekday £61 first half hour, £49 per half hour, £569 full day; out-of-hours £87 then £75
Where Fantastic Services stands out
You can estimate labour before booking. Its own guide says typical jobs take around four hours. An optional £89 club fee gives £30 off up to 10 services in a year.
What to consider
Materials are added, plus shopping time at £52 an hour, and congestion charges are excluded. VAT treatment is not stated.
Best fit
Buyers who want to model labour costs themselves.
3. Housekeep | Best for paying as you go
Overview
Housekeep is a London booking platform for fuse box repair or replacement. You get an hourly rate, choose a time and pay the first hour to secure it.
Its tradespeople for these jobs are NICEIC Approved, it states. Payment is by Visa, Mastercard or American Express.
Key details
- Core offering: fuse box replacement, repairs, fault finding
- Coverage: London regions
- Customer fit: households wanting card payment online
- Pricing and terms: hourly; first hour upfront
Where Housekeep stands out
You can supply your own board to control material cost. A 72-hour return visit is free if its work caused a problem.
What to consider
If the electrician sources the board, it is added after your approval, so the total is open until the end.
Best fit
Buyers comfortable with hourly billing who may source their own board.
4. Pimlico Plumbers | Best for an itemised written estimate
Overview
Pimlico Plumbers is a London maintenance firm whose electrical team handles consumer unit replacements, rewiring and EICRs across all boroughs.
It quotes after a visit rather than publishing a fixed board price. It states its electricians are NICEIC approved and City and Guilds qualified.
Key details
- Core offering: board replacement, repairs, emergency call-outs
- Coverage: London plus parts of Surrey
- Customer fit: households and businesses
- Pricing and terms: estimate within 48 hours of visit, valid 30 days
Where Pimlico Plumbers stands out
Estimates include a cost breakdown and schedule, which makes comparison easier. Materials carry manufacturer warranties, usually 12 months.
What to consider
Workmanship cover of 12 months applies to “most” jobs. No price appears on the reviewed page.
Best fit
Buyers who want an itemised estimate valid for a month.
5. Sky Electrical | Best for warranty value in south-west London
Overview
Sky Electrical Limited, a Twickenham firm incorporated in 1999 (Companies House), lists fuseboard installation on its Checkatrade profile. It offers free estimates.
Its reviews concentrate in TW and SW14 postcodes, and it has 624 Checkatrade reviews since joining in July 2013.
Key details
- Core offering: fuseboard replacement, repair, rewiring
- Coverage: London and surrounding areas, mainly south-west
- Customer fit: homeowners, commercial clients
- Pricing and terms: free estimate; not publicly listed
Where Sky Electrical stands out
Its six-year workmanship warranty, stated on Checkatrade, adds value beyond the headline price. Engineers are directly employed.
What to consider
Its current 9.89/10 score draws on 12 recent reviews. Coverage outside the south-west should be confirmed.
Best fit
South-west London buyers weighing warranty length alongside price.
How to compare quotes fairly
- Same scope: board type, circuit count, testing and certificate.
- Remedials: ask how faults found on the day are priced.
- VAT: confirm whether figures include it.
- Board choice: metal-clad RCBO boards usually cost more than dual-RCD layouts.
FAQs
What makes the price rise? More circuits, an RCBO board, and remedial work on earthing or bonding.
Is the cheapest quote safe? Not always. Check that it includes testing before and after and an Electrical Installation Certificate.
Can I get a fixed price? Survey-based firms usually give one. Hourly providers bill time plus materials.
Do any of these firms publish a fixed consumer unit price? None of the five lists a fixed all-in price on the pages we reviewed. Fantastic Services publishes hourly labour rates, while Capital Electrician, Pimlico Plumbers and Sky Electrical quote after a visit.
Are guarantee lengths comparable? No. Sky Electrical states six years on workmanship, Pimlico Plumbers 12 months on most jobs, and the others did not state a period on the reviewed pages. Ask for it in writing.
Conclusion
Capital Electrician is our featured pick for London buyers who want one surveyed, all-inclusive quote. If seeing rates first matters more, Fantastic Services publishes them, and Sky Electrical offers the longest stated warranty.